The Forgotten History of Tuscarora Indians: A short story: In the Perspective of a Tuscarora Indian

My mother gave birth to me around the year of 1725 at the time of harvest. My mother’s family witnessed the birth in our longhouse and accepted me into the Tuscarora tribe, one of the sixth nations of the Iroquois confederacy. I grew up within the Iroquois Confederacy on the land of upper New York. As a young girl, I helped my mother plant crops of corn, beans, squash, and wild berries and by keeping the fire alive in our longhouse.

On long nights my mother use to tell me stories about the Tuscarora war, the migration to New York, and the bloodshed between the Indians and the colonists over land. My mother was only 10 when North Carolinians aided by the South sold hundreds of Indians into slavery, and her family escaped death by wandering northward to seek protection of the Iroquois.

Everyone in the Tuscarora tribe speak of the “white men” and the death they brought to the Indians. They believe that every coastal Indian tribe in the Southern Colonies has been devastated by now.  Now and then, I hear talk of “the white’s man rum”, smallpox, and measles. My mother always tells me not to worry about the diseases that plague Native Americans, because our ancestors had suffered from them so we can live today.

I have seen colonists before on our land because the Mohawks, one of the six nations of the Iroquois Confederacy, have developed a fur trade with the British colonies. The Iroquois confederacy suffered its own misfortunes from European nations. It always seems like every other country wants a piece of our land and we’re forced to fight for our survival against the French, Dutch, and the British colonists.  I never understood the relationship between the Indians and the colonists until the French and Indian War.

Around 1759, my husband and son fought for the British against the French. The British bribed the Iroquois confederacy with European weapons and goods to defend the colonies. We defended the British Empire and their colonies. Our own enemies and us against the French and the Huron Indians for seven years. We fought for the Ohio River valley, land we use to own, but never can have.

Throughout my life, I watched the Iroquois Confederacy fall apart even more as white men demand for liberty and freedom. I watched British officers and colonial leaders influence the Indian tribes to go against one another for war. The influence of Christianity spread by the British and the colonists changed the Indians, not for the good, but for the worst.  My tribe, Tuscarora, and the Oneidas stayed with the colonies, but the other four of the six nations were persuaded by the promises and the prospect of the future, and joined the British.

All I saw was brother against brother, fighting for sides that promise to correct the past through the gifts of European rum and guns. The Mohawk Chief Joseph Brant, a devout Anglican, persuaded by the British Empire’s promises of less American expansion and freedom, broke the confederacy I once knew. Our own tribes became weak, our religions influenced and lost by Christian missionaries, and the revolution gave us no liberty, but rum and guns. Diseases and guns is what the revolution left us. We fought for the rights of our own oppressors. The colonists achieved their own nation and land to call their own, but our own tribes are left with broken promises and no land. America became the land of the free through the blood of Indians.

tuscarora

Sources Used:

Websites:

http://edsitement.neh.gov/lesson-plan/native-americans-role-american-revolution-choosing-sides#sect-introduction

http://www.bigorrin.org/tuscarora_kids.htm

http://www.nchistoricsites.org/bath/tuscarora.htm

http://tnic.info/about-us/

Emile Louis Vernier (1829-1887) Image credit 

Books: American Pageant Eleventh Edition

8 thoughts on “The Forgotten History of Tuscarora Indians: A short story: In the Perspective of a Tuscarora Indian

  1. I quite like how you’ve taken a personal and literary response to this story. It’s an especially powerful complement to a history often overlooked in survey US History course.

  2. This was really nicely written. Like Ms. Searcy said, it’s a great way of reminding everybody about what you’ve mentioned in the title as a “forgotten history.” I know I’m guilty of forgetting the Tuscarora Indians, but this post reminded me of their story, which is just as valid as everybody else’s stories in the grand scheme of history.

  3. I like how you mentioned the things that the Europeans did to the Native Americans, because we never really talked about it much. It’s a different perspective on American history, especially how the American Revolution impacted them, that most people never really consider.

  4. I love that this is written as a narrative story. It makes reading it much easier than reading a straightforward essay, and it actually made it fun to read. Definitely one of the coolest pieces I’ve read about US History in a while.

  5. Wow you are an amazing story teller summer. It was very interesting that you did this from the Native American’s perspective. It showed how the revolution impacted them. It was one of the most enjoyable pieces of work i’ve read about this time period.

  6. I found it thoroughly refreshing to find a post written from another point of view. It clearly shows a part of American History that is often overlooked. The injustices that subjugated the Indians are the brutal truth of the creation and existence of America. Whether we like it or not Native American blood colors the fabric of America, no matter how many times history tries to paint over it.

  7. I thought that writing it in narrative form made it super interesting. It made me want to keep reading. I felt like you portrayed a lot of good historical fact without making it boring or repetitive. I really liked how you wrote from the point of view of the people most forgotten. Your blog had a good balance of fact and story.

  8. I think a lot of times it’s easy to forget that when we study history, we are studying events and situations that affected the lives of actual people, and I think writing this as a narrative was a good way to remember that. It was interesting to read as well as informative.

Leave a Reply

